How I Spent My Summer Vacation

Published September 3, 2013 by Betty
My home away from home on Whitefish Mountain

My home away from home on Whitefish Mountain, just a short walk from the chair lift.

Over the last 40 years, I’ve been fortunate to travel extensively for both business and pleasure. My travels have taken me to nearly a dozen European countries, several Caribbean islands, and probably a couple dozen US states. However, outside of the New England states, most of my US travel destinations have been cities for work-related travel.

I’d always felt the most relaxing and soul-nourishing vacations to be in the Caribbean. That was until this summer when I had an opportunity to visit a friend living in Whitefish Montana. Although it took three flights each way, with three of the four round trip connections being full-out runs between terminals in Detroit (both ways) and Minneapolis (on the return), I did have sufficient connection time on the outbound to get a fab manicure at the Sea-Tac Airport branch of Butter, the London nail salon chain before boarding an Alaskan Airlines turbo-prop to Kalispell, MT. That was an extra-dose xanax flight.

But I digress. The grueling itinerary was worth the ultimate destination. While my “home-base” was Whitefish, my amazing host showed me sights from Big Fork MT to Waterton, Alberta Canada, with the highlight being a drive through Glacier National Park including the Going-to-the-Sun Road. Words will never do justice to the experience. I’ll try and let the photos do the talking, other than to say that this is one trip that everyone must include on their bucket list.

The view from the deck where I'd enjoy breakfast each morning and spend time watching the hummingbirds.

The view from the deck where I’d enjoy breakfast each morning and spend time watching the hummingbirds. Glacier National Park is off in the distance.

On the outskirts of Big Fork, MT (I think!)

On the outskirts of Big Fork, MT (I think!) looking back toward Whitefish mountain

this is what they hand you at the entrance gate to Glacier National Park.  We did see a bear, but from the safety of our vehicle.

this is what they hand you at the entrance gate to Glacier National Park. We did see a bear, but from the safety of our vehicle.

Indian lanterns in the lobby of the hotel on Lake MacDonald

Indian lanterns in the lobby of the hotel on Lake MacDonald

Along the Going to the Sun Road through Glacier National Park

Along the Going to the Sun Road through Glacier National Park

Logan Pass

Logan Pass

The hills are alive...

The hills are alive…

Now it's really getting spectacular

Now it’s really getting spectacular

Not a statue.  That's a real big horn sheep looking at the Many Glacier Hotel.

Not a statue. That’s a real big horn sheep looking at the Many Glacier Hotel.

Swiftcurrent Lake behind the Many Glacier Hotel.

Swiftcurrent Lake behind the Many Glacier Hotel.

The Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton, Alberta

The Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton, Alberta

The view behind the Prince of Wales

The view behind the Prince of Wales

Back in Whitefish riding the chair lift to the top of the mountain

Back in Whitefish riding the chair lift to the top of the mountain

The view from the top!

The view from the top!

The mountains in the distance are in Canada.

The mountains in the distance are in Canada.

The scariest part: the chair lift back down Whitefish Mountain.

The scariest part: the chair lift back down Whitefish Mountain. That’s Whitefish Lake down there.

I needed a nice watermelon mojito after that.  Cheers!

I needed a nice watermelon mojito after that. Cheers!

8 comments on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation

    • To me, she looks as if she is stalking the people below. Same as I’m doing to her, I guess. She needed to check into the hotel to get herself a nice bubble bath – I could smell her from where I stood taking the photo!

    • In my wildest dreams, I never imagined it would be the destination of a lifetime. If my friend didn’t live there, it never would have occurred to me as a place to visit. But I will go back. In fact the house in the photo is for sale (if anyone reading this is interested!) because he’s moving to Bozeman & I already have an open invitation.

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 82 other followers

